top of page

Thought for the Day - Rules question

We had an incident at Frensham the other day where I was following another IOM about 6 boat lengths behind on starboard on a reach. The mark we approached was to be rounded to starboard. The boat ahead of me miss judged the mark and passed the wrong side. It tacked and then bore away to round the mark correctly as I approached and the returning boat claimed mark room. We collided, I was outside boat and I decided to do a turn but was not convinced I was in the wrong.


Does anyone know the ruling here.


On checking the rulesI think at 4, 5 and 6, as the other boat tacks, I enter the zone and no overlap is established by virtue of the other boat tacking. Therefore I have rights?

61 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Club racing at its best

I am privileged to be a member of 4 thriving radio sailing clubs and there is a common thread between them all. You guessed it, the DF95 and DF 65. Whatever you think about the DF designs, you cannot

bottom of page